2008 AUDELCO Award Nominations

AUDELCO, the Audience Development Committee, was established in 1973 by the late Vivian Robinson to honor excellence in New York African-American Theatre through presentation of Vivian Robinson/AUDELCO Recognition Awards. The “Viv” awards recognize artistic excellence for African-American theatre artists.

We are honored to announce that Theatre for a New Audience√¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢s recent productions of Ohio State Murders and Oroonoko have been nominated for a total of 9 Viv Awards. Theatre for a New Audience’s nominations include:

Oroonoko, Best Dramatic Production
Kate Whoriskey, Direction of a Dramatic Production, Oroonoko
Donald Holder, Lighting Design, Oroonoko
Emilio Sosa, Costume Design, Oroonoko
Fabian Obispo, Sound Design, Oroonoko
Albert Jones, Leading Actor, Oroonoko
John Douglas Thompson, Supporting Actor, Oroonoko
LisaGay Hamilton, Leading Actress, Ohio State Murders
Cherise Boothe, Supporting Actress, Ohio State Murders

We are honored to receive this recognition from AUDELCO, and will be sure to let you know the results of the awards ceremony November 17th.