Theatre for a New Audience a Multiple Award-Winner

In the span of two weeks in May, Theatre for a New Audience was honored with four prestigious awards for our work in theatre and arts education.  On May 5, the Theatre received the prestigious Lucille Lortel Award for “Outstanding Revival” for our production of Ohio State Murders, by Adrienne Kennedy.

Two weeks later, actor LisaGay Hamilton, who was nominated for a Lucille Lortel Award for “Outstanding Performance,” received a 2008 OBIE Award for her performance in Ohio State Murders.  At the same ceremony, Adrienne Kennedy was honored with an OBIE Lifetime Achievement Award.  LisaGay Hamilton accepted the distinguished honor on her behalf.

On May 12, the Mayor√¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢s Office of Film, Theatre, and Broadcasting (MOFTB) presented the Third Annual √¢‚Ǩ≈ìMade in NY√¢‚Ǩ¬ù Awards to five individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to the City’s entertainment industry.√Ǭ† Theatre for a New Audience was honored during the ceremony, which took place at Gracie Mansion, alongside this year√¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢s other recipients: actor Jesse L. Martin, talk show host Rachael Ray, Robert Greenberg of R/GA, and Independent Feature Project Executive Director Michelle Byrd.√Ǭ† Mayor Michael Bloomberg presented the awards to the recipients.√Ǭ† In his remarks, the Mayor cited the Theatre√¢‚Ǩ‚Ñ¢s outstanding service to the entertainment and educational communities, its strong relationship with the NYC Public Schools, and its plans to establish its first home in Downtown Brooklyn.√Ǭ† Of all the honorees, the Mayor stated, √¢‚Ǩ≈ìThey have made their mark on New York City, [and] their outstanding contributions…are to be commended.√¢‚Ǩ¬ù

Cherise Booth, Saxon Palmer, and OBIE Award-Winner LisaGay Hamilton in Lortel Award-Winner Ohio State Murders.  Photo by Gerry Goodstein.

Rachael Ray, Jesse L. Martin, Robert Greenberg, Mayor Bloomberg, Michelle Byrd, Theatre for a New Audience Managing Director Dorothy Ryan, and MOFTB Commissioner Katherine Oliver.√Ǭ† Photo courtesy of the Mayor’s Office.