Annual Gala

Celebrating Shakespeare’s Birthday

Monday, June 7, 2021
Virtual Gala and Silent Auction

6:30 PM EDT Pre-Program Virtual Reception
7:30 PM EDT Gala Streaming Program


Featuring the 17th Presentation of the Samuel H. Scripps Award
for Extraordinary Artistic Achievement to
Marie Maignan, M.S. Ed.
 4th Grade Teacher, The Janice Marie Knight School
East Flatbush, Brooklyn


And the 10th Presentation of the Life in Art Award to
Amanda Riegel and the Thompson Family Foundation


Lead Sponsor


Gala Co-Chairs

Kathleen C. Walsh

Audrey Heffernan Meyer


While we can’t gather in person now to celebrate, for this year we’re planning an exciting and engaging virtual event with special guests and an online silent auction.

Theatre for a New Audience’s past Galas have been hosted by eminent theatre artists such as Harry Lennix, Jessica Hecht, Alfred Molina, Kristine Nielsen, and Maggie Siff.

Gala Sponsorship and Ticket packages include a private Zoom cocktail reception before the program and include special food/wine packages delivered to your home and guests’.

The Annual Gala raises significant support for the Theatre’s critically-acclaimed and award-winning productions, as well as for its in-depth education programs that serve public school students in every borough of New York City.

For more information, contact Barbara Toy, Associate Director of Development at






Can’t join us on June 7? Please consider making a donation below.







About the Honorees

Marie Maignan is a 22-year veteran teacher in the New York City Department of Education. Since 2005 she has taught at P.S. 235, The Janice Marie Knight School, a Pre-K – 8th grade school located in East Flatbush, Brooklyn. Through the partnership with Theatre for a New Audience’s residency program in the school, Marie has coordinated the multiple 5th and 6th grade classes in which students study Shakespeare and see a TFANA production. Marie and P.S. 235’s longtime TFANA Teaching Artist Erin McCready transformed the school’s Culminating Event into a school-wide evening event called the Shakespeare Expo, which brings parents, siblings, friends, professional actors and the local community to share in the celebration of the students’ work. She is a tireless advocate for arts enrichment for all students in New York City. Marie serves on the Board of the Kyle Jean-Baptiste Foundation, Inc. which supports arts and performance enrichment and learning opportunities to empower and engage youth, families, and community.

Amanda Riegel is president of The Thompson Family Foundation, which funds historic preservation, arts and culture, medical research and community services in and around New York City. Founded by Wade Thompson in 1986, the Foundation has been instrumental in the revitalization of the Park Avenue Armory. In addition to major support for Theatre for a New Audience’s Capital Project for Polonsky Shakespeare Center, the Foundation has been a Principal Supporter of TFANA’s productions and programs since 2014. Other recent projects include the restoration of Belvedere Castle in Central Park, support of a collaborative cancer research project between Memorial Sloan Kettering, the Weizmann Institute in Tel Aviv and Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories, and support for neurological research at the Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University. The Foundation also provides support for local organizations meeting critical needs for New Yorkers and ongoing support for veterans. Amanda currently serves as co-chair of the Park Avenue Armory board and as a member of the Columbia Women’s Health Care Council.



Marie Maignan


Amanda Riegel








    The Samuel H. Scripps Award

Samuel H. Scripps (left) was a visionary philanthropist who played a pivotal role in supporting theatre and dance. For Theatre for a New Audience, Samuel Scripps made a leadership gift to enable the Theatre to expand its body of work in Shakespeare and classical drama and increase its season from two to three annual productions. Samuel Scripps championed Shakespeare’s Globe in London. He has provided leadership support to BAM, the Paul Taylor Dance Company, the American Dance Festival and the American Society for Eastern Arts where one summer in the 1970s, Julie Taymor first studied Asian art. This directly led to her study in Indonesia – an experience which has profoundly influenced her as an artist. Each year, we honor a great artist with the Samuel H. Scripps Award for Extraordinary Artistic Achievement.

Past Scripps Honorees

Arin Arbus
jdtbw Merchant of Venice 1 - 158x158gray Gala-John-Turturro-pic-158x158-B&W
Michael Boyd circa 2007
Past Scripps Honorees:
Jeffrey Horowitz (2020), Christian Camargo (2019), Arin Arbus (2018), Bartlett Sher (2017), Kathryn Hunter (2016), John Douglas Thompson (2015), F. Murray Abraham (2014), John Turturro (2013), Michael Boyd (2012), Robert Woodruff (2011), Julie Taymor (2010), Elliot Goldenthal (2010), Mark Rylance (2009), Wallace Shawn (2008), Cicely Berry CBE, Hon.D. Lit (2007), Tony Kushner (2006), and Robert Neff Williams (2005).

The Life in Art Award

Theatre for a New Audience’s Life in Art Award honors the achievements of individuals whose support for theatre has set the standard for leadership and generosity, and whose example has inspired others to ensure that theatre remains a vibrant part of our cultural life.  The award, a signed giclée print by Milton Glaser, is named for the autobiography by the great theatre artist Constantin Stanislavski, My Life in Art.

Past Life in Art Honorees

Terry Christensen
Polonsky-Photo BarrySalzberg_150x150 Ted-2-(2)
Past Life in Art Honorees:
Barbara G. Fleischman (2020), Anne Tatlock (2019), Terry Christensen (2018), Richard E. Feldman and the SHS Foundation (2017), Elayne Bernstein and Sol Schwartz (2016), Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton, LLP. (2015), Leonard Polonsky and Georgette Bennett (2014), Barry Salzberg, CEO of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited (2013), Theodore C. Rogers, Former TFANA Board Chair (2012).

Photo at top: Polonsky Shakespeare Center, photo ©David Sundberg/Esto.